Academy lectureships, some of which date back to the early 20th century, are supported through generous endowment gifts.

The Academy is proud to host an annual series of named lectures to honor individuals who have made significant contributions in the fields of urology, dermatology, pediatrics, psychiatry, neurology, mental hygiene, cardiology, and clinical practice.

The Millie and Richard Brock Lecture

The Brock Lecture was established by Millie and Richard Brock in 1987 on the 100th anniversary of The Academy’s Section on Pediatrics to select a nationally recognized leader in pediatrics to deliver the annual Brock Lecture. The Brock Lecture held at the Academy will address issues concerned with providing care for underserved children.

The Duncan W. Clark Lecture

Dr. Iago Galdston, a major presence at The New York Academy of Medicine from the 1920s to the 1960s, and a world-renowned medical journalist, established in 1984 this annual lecture to honor former Academy President (1983 to 1984) and Trustee (1985 to 1989) Duncan W. Clark, MD. Dr. Clark, an honored physician, teacher, and mentor, which is made possible through ongoing support from the International Foundation.

The Howard Fox Lecture

The Howard Fox Lecture carries on the legacy of Howard Fox, the founder and first president of the American Academy of Dermatology. Dr. Fox was also the first president of the American Board of Dermatology. He served for 13 years as professor and head of dermatology at the New York University School of Medicine (1925–1938) and 10 years as Editor-in-Chief of the Archives of Dermatology.

The Iago Galdston Lecture

The annual Iago Galdston Lecture honors Dr. Galdston, a psychiatrist and educator who dedicated his career to enhancing the health of individuals and the community. Established in 1989, this annual event is dedicated to bringing a distinguished scholar in areas of inquiry related to the historical, philosophical, and humanistic aspects of medicine to share important information with the fellowship and guests of the Academy.

The Edward N. Gibbs Memorial Lecture and Award in Nephrology

In 1901, the widow of Edward N. Gibbs, a patient of Dr. Edward Janeway, established the Edward N.Gibbs Memorial Endowment to award a prize to a physician in practice in the United States for the best original work in the etiology, pathology, and treatment of the diseases of the kidney. Under this program, The New York Academy of Medicine's Edward N. Gibbs Memorial Award and Lecture in Nephrology is presented bi-annually to recognize scientific achievement and outstanding contributions by an individual to basic science or clinical medicine, especially as those contributions relate to nephrology. The awardees' activities may have been accomplished in any nephrology-related area, including research, teaching and education, clinical expertise, medical care programs, and authorship.

The Glorney-Raisbeck Lecture and Award in Cardiology

The Glorney-Raisbeck Award is presented annually to a clinician or basic scientist in recognition of outstanding contributions to the understanding and treatment of cardiovascular diseases. The first Glorney-Raisbeck Award was presented posthumously in 1988 to Milton J. Raisbeck, MD, an exceptional cardiologist involved in the advancement of medical education and research. Since then this level of achievement has been reflected in an outstanding series of Glorney-Raisbeck awardees.

The John K. Lattimer Lecture

The Lattimer Lecture was endowed by John Kinsley Lattimer, PhD, in 1986. An internationally known urologist, educator and a collector, he was Chairman Emeritus of the Department of Urology at Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons. He attended Columbia University through all of his schooling, published hundreds of papers, and was known for establishing the field of pediatric urology.

The Thomas W. Salmon Award and Lecture

Each year The New York Academy of Medicine's Salmon Committee on Psychiatry and Mental Hygiene recognizes a prominent specialist in psychiatry, neurology or mental hygiene by presenting The Thomas William Salmon Award for outstanding contributions to these fields. On the same occasion, The Thomas William Salmon Lecturer, chosen from among the nation's most talented investigators, is invited to share his or her research with the New York area psychiatric community. The Salmon Lecture, first given in 1932, and the Salmon Medal, first awarded in 1942, are presented in memory of Thomas W. Salmon (1876-1927), a gifted and beloved physician whose contribution to the cause of the mentally ill and distressed was one of the most notable of his generation.

The Lilianna Sauter Lecture

The annual Lilianna Sauter Lecture, established in 2000, addresses a topic in medical ethics. Lilianna Sauter, MD, was a long-time Fellow of the Academy and a dedicated physician and Associate Professor at Mount Sinai Medical School. She also had a keen interest in history, and served as an officer of the Friends of the Rare Book Room at the Academy.

The Nahum J. Winer Lecture

Nahum J. Winer was a respected research and clinical cardiologist. Along with his distinguished work for the New York County and New York State Medical Societies, the staff of Lenox Hill Hospital, and other organizations including the AMA and the New York Cardiological Society, he served as an officer of the The New York Academy of Medicine for many years. His colleagues and patients remember him as an enthusiastic researcher and dedicated physician. His family has created this lectureship in celebration of his many contributions to medicine.

The Ferdinand C. Valentine Lecture and Award

Dr. Ferdinand Valentine was elected a Fellow of The New York Academy of Medicine on January 2, 1896. He was a founder of the American Urological Association and its first secretary and third President. He was Professor of Genitourinary Diseases at the New York School of Clinical Medicine and made many contributions to the medical literature. His clinical appointments included Consulting Genitourinary Surgeon to the Manhattan State Hospital, to the West Side German Dispensary and the Red Cross Hospital. The Valentine Medal and Lectureship was created by the Valentine family to celebrate his many contributions to medicine.