Age-friendly Housing

The Housing Working Group works to advance strategies that facilitate older people’s access to safe and affordable housing as well as focusing on improving housing safety, security, services, and supports. 

The Housing Working Group is co-chaired by Kathryn Haslanger, CEO, JASA and Ed Mills, Principal Architect, Ed Mills + Associates.

Check out the Aging in Place Guide for Building Owners [PDF] (2016) and other tools on our Resources page. 

  • Co-Chair, Kathryn Haslanger | CEO, JASA

  • None

    Co-Chair, Ed Mills* | Principal Architect, Ed Mills + Associates

Leo Asen
Andriana Azarias
Senior Advisor, Special Projects
NYC Department of Health and
Mental Hygiene
Nannearl Blackshear
Community Affairs Director
Office of Brooklyn Borough President
Jenna Breines
Deputy Director, Senior Housing
Department of Housing Preservation
and Development
Gale Brewer**
Manhattan Borough President
City of New York
Anna Caffarelli
Special Projects Coordinator
Sewin Chan
NYU Wagner School for Public Service
Chris Cirillo
Executive Director
Lott Community Development Corp.
Dr. Donna Corrado**
New York City Department for the Aging
Caitlin C. Fahey
Human Services Division
New York City Council
Sheldon Fine*
West Side Federation for Senior and Supportive Housing
Ted Finkelstein
Project Equal Access
Commission on Human rights
Rosa Gil
Executive Director
Helen Hamlin
Main Representative
International Federation on Ageing
United Nations
Christine Hunter
Design for Aging Committee
Magnusson Architecture and 
Planning, P.C.
Katelyn Hosey
Public Policy Associate
LiveOn NY
Sydelle Marin Knepper
Founder and CEO
SKA Marin
Christopher Kui*
Executive Director
Asian Americans for Equality
Pascale Leon
Senior Program Manager
Andrea Mata
Senior Manager 
Community Health Initiatives
Eric Mendel*
Central Assisted Living
Deborah Nagin
Director, Healthy Homes Program
Bureau of Environmental Disease
and Injury Prevention
Mia Oberlink
Senior Research Associate
Xiomara Pedraza
Senior Housing Fellow
Enterprise Community Partners
Caryn Resnick
Deputy Commissioner
NYC Department for the Aging
Emily Rooney
Legislative Policy Analyst
New York City Council
Caitlyn Smith
Fall Prevention Analyst
Laura Smith
City Planner
NYC Department of City Planning
Jonathan Szott
Chief of Staff
Office of Council Member Paul A. Vallone
Paul A. Vallone**
Chair, Subcommittee on Senior Centers
New York City Council
Shula Warren
Office of Manhattan Borough President
City of New York
*denotes Commission Member
** denotes Ex-Officio Commission Member