The Commission for an Age-friendly NYC 

The Commission for an Age-friendly NYC is helping to change the culture of New York City to make it more inclusive of older adults.

Originally appointed by Mayor Bloomberg in 2010, and reseated by Mayor de Blasio in 2015, the Commission is comprised of civic leaders from across sectors and disciplines working to develop the overall strategy for Age-friendly inclusive of both the public and private sectors. The Commission has helped New York City become a global leader in the age-friendly cities movement through an array of innovative projects, many of which have been replicated or adapted in other parts of the world. 

The Commission is co-chaired by Ed Lewis, Founder of Essence Communications and Audrey Weiner, President of The New Jewish Home.   


  • None

    Co-Chair, Ed Lewis | Founder, Essence Communications

  • None

    Co-Chair, Audrey Weiner | President & CEO, The New Jewish Home

Edward Lewis (Co-Chair)
Co-founder, Essence Communications, Inc.
Dr. Audrey Weiner (Co-Chair)
President & CEO
The New Jewish Home
Quenia Abreu
Founder and President
New York Women's Chamber of Commerce
Dr. Jo Ivey Boufford
Clinical Professor of global Public Policy
College of Global Public Health at New York University 
Dr. Gordon Campbell, Esq.
NYU Wagner School of Public Service
Sheldon Fine
West Side Federation for Senior & Supportive Housing
Beth Finkel
State Director
Dr. Linda Fried
Mailman School of Public Health
Columbia University
Rev. Eric J. Hall
President & CEO
HealthCare Chaplaincy
Helen R. Hamlin
Main Representative
International Federation on Ageing,
United Nations
Wayne Ho
President & CEO
Chinese-American Planning Council, Inc
Dr. Tom Kamber
Founder & Executive Director
Older Adults Technology Services (OATS)
Dr. Rafael Lantigua
Professor of Medicine
Columbia University 
Jed Levine
Executive Vice President
Deirdre M.W. Lok, Esq.
Assistant Director & Counsel
Weinberg Center on Elder Abuse,
The Hebrew Home at Riverdale
Eric Mendel
Central Assisted Living, LLC
Edward I. Mills, FAIA
Principal Architect
Edward I. Mills + Associates, 
Architects P.C.
Dr. Jacqueline Mondros
Dean & Assistant Vice President
SUNY Stony Brook
Allison Nickerson
Executive Director
LiveOn NY

Dr. Nora OBrien-Suric
Health Foundation of Western & Central New York
Dr. Joan Pastore
The AMICO 59th Street 
Senior Citizen Center
Carol Raphael
Senior Advisor
Manatt Health Solutions
Carol Reid
Eileen Dugan Senior Center
Dr.Judith A. Salerno
The New York Academy of Medicine
Deirdre Scott
Design Police
Denise Scott
Executive Vice President
National Programs
Lisa Sorin
Executive Director
Westchester Square Business Improvement District
Dr. Martha Sullivan
Executive Director
Creedmoor Psychiatric Center
Robin Willner
Leadership Council for NYS


Dr. Donna Corrado
Department for the Aging
Corey Johnson
New York City Council
Margaret Chin
Chair, Committee on Aging 
New York City Council 
Paul Vallone, Esq.
Chair, Subcommittee on Senior Centers 
New York City Council 
Eric Adams
Brooklyn Borough President
Gale Brewer
Manhattan Borough President

Ruben Diaz, Jr.
Bronx Borough President
Melinda Katz, Esq.
Queens Borough President
James S. Oddo
Staten Island Borough President


Age-friendly New York City Commission Membership Roster